
Sales Tax Return - General Instructions

be attached to the return and the credit taken cannot
exceed the lower of the reprogramming charge or
$25 per cash register. This credit may be claimed
only one time after each state tax rate change.

Line 13 - Self-explanatory.

Line 14 - A monthly return becomes delinquent
on the 21st day of the month following the month
in which tax becomes due, and a quarterly return
becomes delinquent on the 21st day of the month
following the calendar quarter in which the tax
becomes due. If the return is filed late,  a delinquent
penalty of 5 percent for each 30 days or fraction
thereof of delinquency, not to exceed 25 percent of the
net tax due on Line 13, must be entered on Line 14.

NOTE - In addition to the delinquent penalties
reported above, a taxpayer may also incur a negli-
gence penalty if circumstances indicate willful
negligence or intentional disregard of rules and
regulations. Also, an examination fee may be im-
posed in the event the Department is required to
issue a billing notice necessitated by the filing or
lack of filing of this return.

Line 15 - Interest of 1.25 percent per month of
the net tax due on Line 13 must be shown for the
delinquent period, beginning with the dates ex-
plained on Line 14, until the tax is remitted to the
Secretary of Revenue.

Line 16 - Self-explanatory.

NOTE - Do not claim credit on Lines 16 for any
previous overpayment. A refund will be issued.

Line 17 - If the credits shown on Lines 12 and
12A are greater than the amount of tax due shown
on Line 11, creating a credit balance on Line 13,
enter the total overpayment in the space provided.

Line 18 - This line is not in use for this reporting
period.

Line 19 - Enter the sale or importation of cus-
tomized computer software occurring July 1, 2002,
through June 30, 2003.  Do not enter sales of canned
or prewritten software.

Line 20 - Self-explanatory.

Line 21 - Report intrastate telecommunication
services, such as local telephone calls, cellular
phone charges, and pager service charges on this
line.

Line 22 - Report interstate telecommunication
services on this line. These include any taxable
telecommunication services that originate in Loui-
siana and terminate outside Louisiana, or that origi-
nate outside Louisiana and terminate in Louisiana,
and that are charged to a Louisiana address regard-
less of where the amount is billed or paid. Do not
include interstate telecommunication services sold
to exempt call centers that hold an exemption
certificate R-1011.

Line 23 - Self-explanatory.

Line 24 - Self-explanatory.

Line 25 - Enter sales of food for further prepa-
ration and consumption in the home.

information in the space provided. If this is an
amended return, place an “x” in the box labeled
“Amended Return” on the back of the form. If this
is a final return, place an “x” in the box labeled
“Final Return” on the back of the form and enter the
date the business was sold or closed in the space
provided.

3. All amounts on the return should be rounded
to the nearest dollar and handprinted in the appro-
priate boxes in a fashion similar to the examples
shown on the face of the return.

4. Care should be exercised to ensure that: (a)

1. All persons and dealers who are subject to
the tax levied under Chapter 2 of Title 47 of 1950,
as amended, are required to file a tax return
monthly, unless otherwise provided. Returns are
due on or before the 20th day of each month for the
preceding calendar month or quarter. If the due
date falls on a weekend or holiday, the return is
due the next business day and becomes delinquent
the next day thereafter.

2. Corrections or changes to the name and
address information shown on the form should be
made by placing an “x” in the address change box
on the front of the form and writing the correct

the correct period is entered or shown in the appro-
priate area near the upper left-hand corner of the
return; (b) the handprinted numerals in the boxes
are similar to the examples shown near the upper
right of the form; (c) the return is signed and dated
by the appropriate company official; (d) a payment
for the exact amount of tax, penalty, and interest
accompanies the return and that this payment
amount is properly entered on Line 16 of the form;
(e) if payment is made electronically, mark the box
on Line 16; and (f) the return and payment are
placed in the attached pre-addressed envelope,
stamped, and mailed.

Line 1 - “Gross sales” is the total sale price for
each individual item or article of tangible personal
property with no reduction for any purpose.

Line 2 - A use tax is due on the purchaser’s
acquisition price of the tangible personal property
used, consumed, distributed, stored for use or
consumption in Louisiana, or purchased or im-
ported into the State for resale in coin-operated
vending machines. The total cost or value of such
property on which the tax has not been paid to
vendors must be entered on this line.

Line 3 - The gross receipts billed for the lease
or rental of tangible personal property, as well as
the gross receipts from taxable services defined in
the statutes, should be included. Taxable telecom-
munication services, such as charges for intrastate
and interstate telephone calls, cellular phone calls,
and pager services are taxable at 3 percent, and
should be included on this line. Refer to the Sales
Tax Law and Regulations for details showing
services that are taxable and leases or rentals that
are taxable.

Line 4 - Self-explanatory.

Line 5 - From Line 34 Schedule A, no deduc-
tion can be claimed unless the item has been
included on either Line 1, 2, or 3.

Line 6 - Self-explanatory.

Line 7 - Self-explanatory.

Line 8 - In cases where the total amount of
Louisiana sales or use taxes collected by use of
tax-bracket tables exceeds the amount shown on
Line 7, any such excess must be remitted to the
Secretary of Revenue.

Line 9 - Self-explanatory.

Line 10 - To receive the dealer’s 1.1 percent
compensation for remittance of the tax levied,
deduct the 1.1 percent from the total tax accounted
for and payable to the Secretary of Revenue before
taking credit for taxes already paid to a whole-
saler. Such compensation is allowable only when
the payment is made in a timely manner.

Line 11 - Self-explanatory.

Line 12 - All dealers who have paid advance
sales tax to a manufacturer, wholesaler, jobber, or
supplier shall deduct from the total tax collected
by them upon retail sale of the commodity the
amount of advance sales tax paid, provided tax-
paid invoices evidencing the payments are re-
tained by the dealer claiming the refund or credit.
Purchases should be shown in their entirety, even
though some portion of the purchases did not bear
the advance sales tax. Claim only the amount of
Louisiana tax paid. Credit for local taxes cannot
be claimed here nor can credit be claimed for
property purchased for resale in coin-operated
vending machines. Credits for Louisiana advance
sales taxes on purchases at the 4%, 3%, and 3.9%
rates may be combined on Line 12.

Line 12A - A credit of up to $25 per cash
register that has been reprogrammed because of a
state tax rate change may be taken on this line. An
invoice showing the reprogramming charges must

Line 26 - Enter sales of electricity, steam, bulk

water, and natural gas.

Line 27 - Self-explanatory

Line 28 - Self-explanatory.

Line 29 - Sales to the U.S. Government, State
of Louisiana or any parish and municipal govern-
ment, or to any agency, board, commission or
instrumentality of federal, state, or local govern-
ment are exempt from sales taxation.

Line 30 - Cash discounts allowed by the vendor
and taken by the customer are allowed as a deduc-
tion for the period claimed by the customer.  Sales
returns and allowances are allowed as an exemp-
tion only if such returns are unused and future sales
will be made at or near the same selling price.
Repossessions of property sold on an installment
or credit basis are not allowed as an exemption.

Line 31 - Sales of drugs prescribed by physi-
cians or dentists; orthotic and prosthetic devices,
wheelchairs, and patient aids for home use pre-
scribed by physicians or chiropractors; and insu-
lin, whether or not by prescription, are totally
exempt from taxation.

Line 33 - Any other deduction authorized by
law should be properly identified, such as sales in
coin-operated vending machines, sales to direct-
payment permit holders, sales of electric power
used in a chlor-alkali process, tangible personal
property used for lease or rent, gasoline and special
fuels on which the road use tax is paid, sales in
interstate commerce, sales for first use offshore,
and food items purchased using USDA food cou-
pons or WIC vouchers.

Line 34 - Add lines 20, 24, and 28 through 33.
Enter the sum here and on Line 5.  No item can be
included as a deduction unless the item has been
included on either Line 1, 2, or 3.
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19 Sales of customized computer software

20 Multiply Line 19 by 25% and enter here

21 Intrastate telecommunication services and prepaid phone cards

22 Interstate telecommunication services

23 Subtotal (Add Lines 21 and 22.)

24 Multiply Line 23 by 25% and enter here.

25 Food for home consumption

26 Electricity, natural gas, water, and steam

27 Subtotal (Add Line 25 and 26.)

28 Multiply Line 27 by 2.5% (.025) and enter here

29 Sales to US Government and Louisiana state and local government agencies

30 Cash discounts, sales returns and allowances

31 Prescription drugs and medical related items

32 Sales to registered wholesalers

33 Other totally tax-exempt sales  (Explain. Do not include bad debt write-offs from prior period sales.)

34 All Lines 20, 24, and 28 through 33. Enter here and on Line 5

28 00

29 00

30 00

31 00

32 00

33 00

34 00

Allowable deductions – Schedule A

19 00

20 00

21 00

22 00

23 00

24 00

25 00

26 00

27 00

1 00

2 00

3 00

4 00

5 00

6 00

7 00

8 00

9 00

10 00

11 00

12 00

12A 00

13 00

14 00

15 00

12A Register reprogramming credit (Actual programming costs, not to exceed $25 per register - invoices must be attached)

13 Net tax due  (Add Lines 12 and 12A and subtract from Line 11. If total of Lines 12 and 12A exceeds Line 11, enter amount here and on Line 17.)

14 Penalty (See instructions.)

15 Interest (1.25% per month from due date until paid)

16 Total tax, penalty, and interest (Total of Lines 13, 14, and 15)

17 Overpayment to be refunded   (Do not claim a credit for this overpayment on any other return.)

16 00

17 00

Purchases .00

.00

01 Gross sales of tangible personal property

02 Cost of tangible personal property

03 Leases, rentals, and services

04 Total (Add Lines 1 through 3.)

05 Total allowable deductions  (From Line 34, Schedule A. Do not include as a deduction any item not reported on Lines 1 through 3.)

06 Amount taxable  (Subtract Line 5 from Line 4.)

07 Tax due  (Multiply amount on Line 6 by 4%.)

08 Excess tax collected

09 Total (Add Line 7 and Line 8.)

10 Vendor’s compensation  (1.1% of Line 9, if payment not delinquent)

11 Gross tax due  (Subtract Line 10 from Line 9.)

12 Sales tax credit

(Used, consumed, or stored for use or consumption, or purchased or
imported to be sold in coin-operated vending machines)

Tax credit (3%)

Sales Tax Division
Department Revenue

P.O. Box 3138
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-3138

(225) 219-7356
For Taxpayer Assistance, call or write the Baton Rouge Headquarters or the Regional Office in your area.

Alexandria
Room B-100
900 Murray Street
P.O. Box 1191
Alexandria, LA 71309-1191
318-487-5333

Baton Rouge
Suite 200
8549 United Plaza
P.O. Box 80519
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-0519
225-922-2300
225-219-2114 (TDD)

Lafayette
Brandywine III, Suite 150
825 Kaliste Saloom Road
P.O. Box 81857
Lafayette, LA 70598-1857
337-262-5455

Lake Charles
Suite 1550
One Lakeshore Drive
P.O. Box 3702
Lake Charles, LA 70602-3702
337-491-2504

Monroe
Room 105
122 St. John Street
P.O. Box 1783
Monroe, LA 71210-1783
318-362-3151

New Orleans
Suite 900
1555 Poydras Street
New Orleans, LA 70112-3707
504-568-5233

Shreveport
1525 Fair f ield Avenue
P.O. Box 31706
Shreveport, LA 71130-1706
318-676-7505

Thibodaux
1418 Tiger Drive
P.O. Box 1429
Thibodaux, LA 70302-1429
985-447-0976

PAY THIS AMOUNT.Do not send cash.Make payment to:
Louisiana Department of Revenue

Revenue account number Location address Month/Quarter ending

Worksheet/Taxpayer copy

Total tax credit
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